Guest sisi

Adelphi University

13 posts in this topic

Although I am a MSW (masters in social work) student at Adelphi University, being on a campus with a dance program, I just had to audition to take class there. Today was my first day. I am dancing there monday-friday, 9am-12pm with the dance majors. I was placed in a good level, having many years of experience - if many of those were full of mediocre to poor training due to ignorance on my part. I just wanted to share something funny. I am 24, but many of the students, seeing I was new, came up to me and asked if I was a freshman. I had to giggle.

The director, Frank Augustyn, taught our ballet class and we had a guest modern teacher from a company in nyc whose name I REALLY should know but I was a little nervous and thus distracted.

I feel I am on the same technical level as many of the dancers there, even the upper classmen. Yet, it saddens me that I am not "offcially" a dance major. Similarly, at NYU, I took classes within the School of Education dance major program and at Tisch, but always as somewhat of an interloper.

I suppose I wish I could go back in time. I wasted much of it being a big fish and small studios which provided poor ballet training, although admittedly were rather good in jazz and tap.

This regret really plagues me, but I am proud that I am dancing within this program and hope to be accepted by the other dancers - so far, everyone has been very sweet.

Thanks for the tip, Sisi, and for the reminder that Adelphi is still out there, teaching ballet as they have done since before it was fashionable to do so. Isn't getting mistaken for a freshman nice? I was 35 the last time I was carded. I thanked the checker profusely! :)