eschmitt98

Dance Science

25 posts in this topic

Hello! I've never started a topic before, and I'm clueless about where to put this one, so please feel free to move or close this topic!

So, I've heard about a wonderful new college major... Dance Science!

I know that it's the study of movement in dance, and things surrounding that, but I was wondering if anyone who knows anything about it could tell me a little more about what it's like to study? I love both dance AND science, and even though I'm just a sophomore, I'm looking ahead to college.

Anyway, I should probably get off the computer and start doing homework so I can actually get into a college... :whistling:

I don't know much about it. My DS is a sophomore, and I know he's looking at the BS in Kinesiology/Dance Science at Texas A&M:

http://hlknweb.tamu.edu/degrees-and-programs/undergraduate-degree-programs/dance-science

He wants to become a physical therapist who specializes in dancers, and this seems like it would be a good Pre-PT program.

What colleges are you looking at that offer dance science?

The only one's I've heard about are Goucher College in Baltimore, Maryland, and Elon University in North Carolina. But thanks for letting me know about Texas A&M, slhogan! I've also thought about becoming a dance physical therapist, or something of the like. :)

Hi, eschmitt98,

Here is a (fairly long) paper (pdf) which was put together by the Trinity-Laban Conservatory of Music and Dance.

It is pretty interesting and might give you a bit of an insight into what sort of things one "does" in those studies.

http://www.trinitylaban.ac.uk/media/573037/laban_report_single_pages.pdf

-d-

There was a blurb about this in one of the recent magazines... can't remember if it was Dance, Pointe, or Dance Teacher but I'll check tomorrow and post some more info.... I thought it sounded like a really good degree plan for students who want to dance but aren't committed to a performing career or want to go into medicine!