Teslafangirl

Pilates and Yoga

6 posts in this topic

Just wondering on your personal opinion about the number of hours to spend on pilates/yoga as a Ballet supplement?

I'm currently doing 3.5 hours of Ballet/Pointe a week, and I'm considering adding two hours of pilates/yoga- if beneficial. Thoughts? =)

I do ballet 5x/week plus one contemporary class and try to do a yoga session (at home using youtube videos) daily. I don't manage daily when I'm busy but my body can handle it. I've seen massive improvements in core strength and flexibility from the yoga.

I take a ballet class 2 times a week, which is the only amount of classes available to me during my non-work hours. :( I wanted to supplement this with a minimum of 2 yoga classes a week, but I've found I really don't enjoy it. Is pilates quite different?? I would have to travel for the pilates class, my town is overrun with yoga but has a lack of pilates!

I guess I'm allowed in this forum now... I have little experience with yoga, but Pilates has saved my body. I did it once a week all year last year, and have continued that (flirting here and there with twice a week when I can afford it) this year, and I can say that I've never had a major injury (just some overuse stuff). I find that the work in parallel and medial rotation is an especial help, as well as the general stability gained from the work. My experience is strictly Reformer, though; I don't go to a studio that offers mat (although she does incorporate mat exercises on a converted reformer sometimes).

I find both yoga and Pilates useful and I find they complement each other as well as dance. I've actually been doing a bit less dancing than before, really for scheduling reasons only, but I've been doing regular yoga and Pilates. And my dancing has improved notably in the same time, I think because doing a different activity increases body awareness and I've been mindful to translate that awareness to dance.