eschmitt98

When to Transfer

6 posts in this topic

Hello everyone!

I've come with a question... it's long and maybe a bit complicated, but we'll see what happens.

I'm a freshman at a college in New York City with a well-known dance department, but I'm struggling from a lack of ballet. Many of the dancers are ex-comp kids who didn't really have strong training in ballet and don't appreciate ballet nearly as much as I do. I'm frustrated. I definitely feel like I'm not getting the intense ballet training I wanted from my college experience. I'm not surrounded by bunheads like me, like I wanted. Of course, it's important to be diverse in your dance training and have experience in modern, jazz, tap, etc., but I was hoping for a ballet-centered program with training in the other styles as well, and I ended up at a more modern-based program. So, I've been rolling around in my head whether or not I want to transfer.

Here are the reasons I'm still doubting transferring:

My current school has a dance science piece integrated into the dance major, and that's hard to find elsewhere, and I want to move into physical therapy after I am finished dancing.

I love living in New York City, and don't know if I could give up living in such a cool place.

This college is hard on the bank account, and I don't want to have to put in another year of school if my credits don't transfer (for money reasons).

And the big one- I love ballet, and want to be able to focus on it more in my college career, but if I'm not going to get a job with a ballet company after I graduate (which is realistically very unlikely based on my technique and body), why would I bother transferring?

I guess it boils down to the question: do I transfer to be able to do what I love a bit longer, or do I stay where I am because it's not important enough to change?

Edited to add: If I were to transfer, it would most likely be after the next fall semester!