How to break through the mediocre barrier?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 swanbyanyothername

swanbyanyothername

• Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:Ballet; dancing, watching, learning!
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Adult dancer

Posted 06 June 2016 - 03:59 PM

This is my first post here. Hi all! So I've been dancing for about five years now, three en pointe and though I can see great improvement in so many areas, there is still so much that is hard for me, perhaps harder than before as I now know how things SHOULD look ;)

For example at this point, I can see how poor turnout is limiting me. There is not much I can do about that except work on holding what I do possess as well as flexibility .

Now that one pirouette is doable for me, I am working on doubles but finding that my lack of high releve and passe are holding me back.

I'm thinking about this all the time!

I still find that my developpes are not very high. I know that this is because my flexibility is average at best and also because my turnout is poor. Advice welcome!

My other turns are improving as I am starting to understand how arm position is so important as well as all the rest! Also holding that releve, that passe, etc..

Wow! Ballet is the hardest thing ever!!!!

What I am starting to feel though is that presentation (in class as well as on stage) can make up for a lot of mediocrity ;)

Port de bras can make you look beautiful as well as a pleasant expression and a good attitude.

Not sure what I am asking except maybe for other ways in which to break through the "average" dancer barrier to become all one can be personally?

Edited to add that I take approximately 5 classes a week at beginner and intermediate levels as well as one pointe class and occasional barre en pointe. I also take a floor barre class every week!

Edited by swanbyanyothername, 06 June 2016 - 06:17 PM.

#2 gav

gav

Gold Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 918 posts