RAD Vocational exams

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_meagsy_*

Guest_meagsy_*
  • Unregistered / Not Logged In

Posted 08 September 2005 - 10:14 PM

Hi I am after some advice and was hoping that their may have been others in a similar situation that may be able to help me.

I have been doing RAD (various vocational exams) for several years. I have completed the RAD grade exams upto grade 5 and I was now considering doing some of the vocational exams. I am in my mid twenties and would be doing intermediate and am unsure if I should go ahead or not as I would be so much older then the others doing their exam. The reasons for doing exams is that I would like to challenge myself more (I have been doing Intermediate and advanced foundation (or their equivalents) for about five years recreationally) and I would also like to have the oppertunity to do the teachers program.

If you have any experiance in doing exams as an older dancer I would like to hear from you.

Thanks

#2 Guest_Aoife_*

Guest_Aoife_*

Posted 09 September 2005 - 05:14 AM

Meagsy,

I'm in a similiar situation. I'm 23 and have been dancing recreationally for the last 2.5 years. Previously, I did Grade 6 in 1994 and the old Pre El in 1993. I have no idea if we are too old to tackle the vocational exams. But I thought doing grades 7 and 8 might be less stressful and more managable.

Any thoughts anyone?

#3 dancing_dentist

dancing_dentist

• PipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:dancer, teacher

Posted 11 September 2005 - 04:36 PM

We're not too old for Vocational exams!! I took my Intermediate exam when I was 22, and finally finished Advanced 2 last year at 26!
So go for it!!
:crying:

#4 Mel Johnson

Mel Johnson

Ballet Master

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,220 posts
  • Interests:Ballet, history, music, art, fine wines, roses, things that go BOOM!
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Teacher

Posted 11 September 2005 - 10:26 PM