Stretching Advice for a Pre-Beginning Beginner :)

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Casi Leigh

Casi Leigh

• Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:student, fan

Posted 06 June 2009 - 11:19 AM

Greetings, beautiful dancing people! I'm brand new to this forum and I'm searching for some information which I hope someone might be able to help me find.

Before I ask my question, a little background info: My name's Casi and I'm 25 years old. I've just enrolled in my very FIRST ballet class which begins with the fall semester of my senior year in college, this September. I've never danced a day in my life (unless you count the Mashed Potato, at which I am a seasoned pro!) but I've been an athlete since youth and remain in fairly good shape as I bicycle and have recently taken up yoga again. I've been a secret admirer from a distance of ballet since I can remember and I suddenly realized the only thing that had stopped me from pursuing my dream of dancing was the stigma that had haunted me through childhood that I was "too tall." (I'm six feet tall and have been so since junior high!) That seemed like a silly reason to not at least attempt something in which I'm very interested so...here I am!

The mere thought of the class excites me beyond all reason and, at the same time, makes me extremely queasy with dread. I'm not exactly what most people would deem "dancer material." I'm studying to be a librarian; I'm extremely shy, a little on the self-conscious side, and decidedly clumsy. In the words of one of my favorite actresses, Anne Hathaway, "My goal in life is to be invisible and I'm good at it." :o However, I want this more than I can remember wanting anything ever so that's reason enough for me to give it everything I've got.