16 replies to this topic

#1 gav

gav

Gold Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 806 posts
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Adult student

Posted 11 March 2010 - 01:54 AM

I'm curious to hear from teachers: How would you describe/categorize the various levels of ballet learning, from beginner all that way up to advanced? I'm especially curious to hear from those who have taught children across this whole spectrum, from the first forays beyond pre-ballet/creative movement onto the final steps before becoming professionals, or from those who have detailed knowledge of what happens across this spectrum even without teaching it all.

I started learning ballet as an adult through a combination of lower-level registered sessions of classes, none of which were of any named method, and a mix of open classes with different teachers at different levels. I find it difficult to know where I fall on the global spectrum of learning/progress in ballet. I'm just curious, really, but I think seeing a breakdown like might also be helpful in identifying areas for improvement.

So, what do you expect of and what do you teach to your (for example) beginner/high beginnger/low intermediate/intermediate/high intermediate/advanced students? What are some of the benchmarks at these different stages -- be they in technique, expectations for allignment, new steps taught, steps expected to be of an acceptable/good standard, concepts introduced, etc.? I'm interested to read whatever you have to say, however you break it down, so thank you very much in advance.

#2 tangerinetwist

tangerinetwist

Platinum Circle

• PTA Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,637 posts
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:teacher, parent of young dancers

Posted 11 March 2010 - 01:50 PM