Finding Pointe shoes that might fit

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Trulhammaren

Trulhammaren

• Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Interests:Ballet, Modern, Jazz, Ballroom (Standard and Latin), basically any and all forms of dance.<br /><br />I am an avid musician with skill in Tuba, Trombone, Euphonium, Tin Whistle, Vocal, Dijeridoo, and one of these days I'm going to get me a set of Uilleann pipes.<br /><br />I am also a particular fan of swordfighting, swordsmithing, and armorsmithing. Not to mention I am slowly learning how to handcraft various types of jewelry.
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:student/dancer/techie/amatuer coreographer

Posted 30 April 2010 - 09:35 AM

Ok, so the men's ballet technique class at my school is only offered during the spring semesters and during the fall at that time a beginning/intermediate pointe class is offered instead. I'm thinking about taking the class and have talked with the instructor, there are a few things she is concerned about the primary one is whether or not I will be able to find pointe shoes that will fit. The two pair of flat's that I own are Sansha 16-M and 18-M. I think my street shoe size is 12.5.

I have no clue where to even begin looking for shoes that might fit me and would appreciate and nudging in the right direction.

#2 Mel Johnson

Mel Johnson

Ballet Master

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 23,220 posts
  • Interests:Ballet, history, music, art, fine wines, roses, things that go BOOM!
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Teacher

Posted 30 April 2010 - 11:52 AM

Men's ballet technique does not include pointework, so that fixes your problem right there. Do the pointe exercises on demi-pointe; that will somewhat satisfy the technical issues involved in men's technique, and also improve the quality of your demi-pointe.
Mr. Johnson
Ballet Talk for Dancers Ballet Master.

#3 MJ

MJ

Platinum Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,016 posts
  • Interests:uh, Ballet and Computer Security