#1 BlleFille

BlleFille

Bronze Circle

• PipPipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Interests:Ballet, painting, hiking, dogs
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Adult student

Posted 26 September 2012 - 12:08 PM

So last night in class, my teacher complimented a lady on her "beautiful line" in attitude to the back.
I could totally see what he meant. This lady has amazing turnout, is very thin so the lines looked clean and sparse, she had very good height and created nice negative areas with her body.
I am an artist so can recognize a beautiful line in anyone/ thing..... a greyhound running, a flower bent in the wind, a javelin thrower, a dancer....
But can one LEARN to improve their line?
I can tell that my line is sometimes nice but I don't have great turnout so my attitude is only ok and I believe that a beautiful attitude to the back is a lot about turnout...right?
Best lines of all time in my opinion, Gene Kelly! WOW! You can stop frame him at ANY point and he looks perfect; balance, poise, posture, grace....

So how can I improve my line. I take as many clases as I can, I try to stretch and stay long, hold my core and keep forward.
Can one ever look really good as a dancer without a naturally good line?
I have seen even less fit dancers who just posess a beautiful line..but of course when the body is more sparse, the lines are more visible....
Is it genetic? I am so envious of those with a naturally great line :(

I saw a picture of a musician on my boyfriend's guitar magazine lately and though heavy, beyond middle age and clearly NEVER a dancer, he had an amazing line just standing there with his guitar in NUMEROUS pictures!
Makes me think it can exist in the most unusual places....
It doesn't seem to be about a beautiful body necessarily but can be...
Many models don't seem to have nice lines at all for example.

What do you think?? How can one make an ok line better?

#2 Victoria Leigh

Victoria Leigh

Administrator

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip