#1 Marjolein

Marjolein

Gold Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 812 posts
  • Interests:Musical theater, sewing and knitting
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:musical theater student

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:14 PM

I cannot get my double pirouettes to become clean. After 5 months of daily training, they are still every bit as wobbly as they were before I started training fulltime. I have no clue why I can't get them clean. Any tips on how to practice them?

#2 gav

gav

Gold Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Adult student

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:01 PM

Two things that particularly help me are...
First, spotting with musicality.
Second, keeping my retiré glued (making sure my working leg doesn't drop/fall/come loose from my supporting leg) as I turn and then envisioning the working foot coming up and over the kneecap and only then passing to the back (for en dehors pirouettes) at the end of the turn -- this imagery helps me finish the turn "up".

Of course, any number of other things might be going wrong for you (and me... sigh!). But when I'm thinking about "cleaning", I like these strategies.

#3 insidesoloist

insidesoloist

Gold Circle

• PTA Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 845 posts
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:enthusiast, teacher, adult student

Posted 30 January 2013 - 08:50 PM

Your use of the word "wobbly" makes me wonder if you are getting as high onto your releve as you possibly can, and then staying there for the duration of the turn, and pushing down to go up?
-insidesoloist

#4 Garyecht

Garyecht

Platinum Circle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,343 posts
  • Interests:Dance
  • Connection to/Interest in Ballet:Adult student

Posted 31 January 2013 - 11:17 AM