Ballet Talk for Dancers
amanndddaaaa

I'm 18, is it still possible to become a professional dancer?

amanndddaaaa

(I'm new to this forum, so I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong topic.)

I'm 18 years old and I'm a first year student at UCI. When I was about 7, I did tap, jazz, and a little bit of ballet for a year and I began taking ballet classes as of Summer 2008. I also took a modern class at UCI this fall. In January 2011, I want to audition for the dance major at UCI and eventually pursue a career as a professional dancer. The reason why I'm not auditioning in January 2010 is because I want to gain another year of experience. I've attended a dance show at UCI and I'm just amazed at the dancers' technique and talent. Whenever I watch ballet or contemporary pieces, I just fall in love with dancing all over again. I know that dance is one of the few things that I'm actually interested in. Since I'm an undeclared/undecided major right now, I'm always asked what I'd like to study and all I can think of is dance. I have such a great interest in dancing that I'm afraid it's too late for me to pursue my dreams.

So my questions are:

Is it possible for me to nail the audition for the dance major even though I'll be competing with other people who have danced their whole lives?

And, is it too late for me to become a professional dancer?

Victoria Leigh

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers, amanndddaaaa. :thumbsup: