Ballet Talk for Dancers
Richardcurz

Adult male dance attire question

Richardcurz

I'm an avid amateur dancer and I take regular ballet, jazz and acrobatic classes. Normal dress code for men is a dance belt and tights, with either a t-shirt or leotard. Over time I grew curious on trying women's dance attire and found out theirs are much more comfortable: their tights are thinner and stretchier, and their leotard goes over the tights so the tights will never fall. I can see my body posture better too.

My question is, can I just wear women's attire to classes? Of course I'll still wear a dance belt underneath and my look is still very modest. I would wear a unisex leotard (not cami style) and white lady's tights (I shave so no hairy legs). I think I will dance a lot better in them.

Any thoughts, comments are appreciated!

GTLS Designs

Richardcruz - welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers! I moved your topic to the Men's Forum as I think it will be more easily answered by other males who may have experimented with the same issue.

Traditionally, men only wear a leotard under lights, and it usually a thong, to prevent any additional lines. If you are looking for lighter weight tights there are other brands - many of our members can suggest which they feel is the most lightweight & stretchy. If you feel that wearing the leotard on top pulls everything up, there might be some tips on how to roll your elastic in a way the pulls everything up.... There are also other tricks, like sewing shoulder elastic onto your tights, so that the tights stay up.