Ballet Talk for Dancers
beckyl

How far do you travel to class?

beckyl

I'm curious as to how far people travel to attend ballet class or how far you would be willing to travel.

I live in a very rural location (and as a double whammy have to rely on public transport, getting a car is not something I can afford right now.) I'm very fortunate in my ballet class that it's about a 20 minute bus ride and all the timings fit.

I'd dearly love to add a second (maybe a third!) ballet class to my schedule. However, the timings at my current studio don't fit in with bus times :(

There are ballet classes in Oxford (nearest city) I could get to at various locations- but all would involve four hours out of the house (depending on time of day, up to 90 minutes-2 hours travelling) and one would involve me arriving home at 10.35 p.m. at night (I'm a teacher so I really wouldn't be able to give my class the best the next day!)

Garyecht

For me it's a 30 minute drive to class, which I consider close by. When I did ballroom it was a 45 minute drive to class, which also didn't bother me. In ballroom days on Monday I'd leave home at about 6 p.m. and not return until about 11 p.m. On Wednesdays, which was a practice day, it was the same. It was all I knew at the time, so I assumed that's just how it was. I know other ballroom people who did pretty much the same.

gimpydancer

The ballet studio where I attend classes is about a 25 minute drive. What's convenient is that where I work is about midway between home and ballet so two days a week I go straight from work. Where I lived before I was about 40-45 minutes away and that used a lot of gas!

gav