Ballet Talk for Dancers
Pointyourtoes

Unprepared for Show

Pointyourtoes

Hello all.

I am a sixteen-year-old student, and a soloist in my studio's upcoming performance of the Nutcracker, which is tomorrow. The whole rehearsal season has, to put it lightly, been a mess. I've often complained to my parents and teacher that I was not being adequately prepared for the role, despite my frequent requests for help. Nevertheless, I decided to proceed the show because I did not want to break my commitment.

Last night was the dress rehearsal. I had never done my piece in my costume or even on the stage prior to this. My teacher has continually warned me that my dance will feel a lot different in the tutu, so I knew that I needed this practice.

However, the management of both my studio and the theater wasted so much time during the rehearsal that we were not able to run either my solo or my two other corps dances. I was not the only one affected; one of the other soloists was practically in tears as she stood on the stage and begged for a chance to run her piece.

I now face a predicament. If I do this show, I will be doing the three dances in costume and on the stage for the first time. I have two quick costume changes which I will have never practiced (one of which is so fast I'm not quite sure it is possible). I have asked for help frequently to no avail. I feel completely and utterly alone.

I don't want to break my commitment, but I feel like my studio has broken their commitment to me as a dancer and performer. I am absolutely terrified to go onstage tomorrow. Any advice?

Victoria Leigh