Ballet Talk for Dancers
The Fat Lady Dances

Greetings! Plus size/plus age beginner here

The Fat Lady Dances   
The Fat Lady Dances

Hi, all. I am a starting-over dancer who took a couple of years of ballet in childhood (grades 4-5) and a half year in my late 20s. I have recently started beginner ballet classes in hopes of improving my flexibility, balance and toning,

The studio I attend is adults only. The owner is a former professional dancer in her 50s and teaches several of the beginner classes. I'm not sure I'm the oldest one in my class (I'm 58) but at U.S. size 22, definitely the widest.

My childhood studio was not very good, looking back. I learned no technique and only a handful of terminology (plie, battement, arabesque, and first, second and fifth positions). Classes were half an hour of ballet, half an hour of tap ("for rhythm") ... and I was put on pointe after the first year!

Since it's been 50 years, I don't have much to unlearn, but I do have a lot to learn. I would like to hear from other older and/or larger beginners, and would appreciate being pointed to any threads/topics/stickies that deal with topics of interest to dancers like me.

vrsfanatic   
vrsfanatic

Welcome to Ballet Talk for Dancers. It is always lovely to have a new Adult Ballet student on board. You will find the Adult Forum filled with a lot of information that you might find interesting. Enjoy your journey through the wonderful world of ballet.

BalletFamily   
BalletFamily

Hi, welcome! Fellow fat ballerina here! I'm 53 and have been dancing as an older adult for about 5 years. I did ballet as a child, then gymnastics, then ballet again as a teen and modern and jazz through a couple years of college. I had a bit more technique than you but not tons more. I never did pointe.