Ballet Talk for Dancers
ranunculus

Need Ballet Slippers Sizing Advice

ranunculus   
ranunculus

Hello,

I'm still quite new to this. My daughter (5) was taking ballet classes but stopped for a year because we relocated cross country. She will start class next week! 

She was fitted at the local dance store. They fitted her in a 11A in Bloch full soles. I know the slippers come in various widths. Previously, when we were living in a different state the store there fitted her in a B width granted she was 3 at the time. 

I noticed a lot of the dance stores especially online do not carry the A width. I always see B and C and sometimes D. I'm curious to know if there's a huge difference between A and B, and if A might be too narrow. My daughter doesn't have  narrow feet that needs narrow sizes for street shoes.

Also how do I check if the shoes fit her feet well. What do I look for? How do I tell if it's too narrow or too wide? The person fitting her had her point her toes with the shoes on and had her stand in first position. The shoes are a little long which my daughter complained about extra room at the toes in the store and they stuffed the the shoes with some fluff to help it feel better. They recommended not going down a size because she will outgrow them very quickly. For reference, she wears a size 29 / 11.5 in street shoes.

Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks! 

Clara 76   
Clara 76

Usually, when I am fitting ballet slippers on wee ones, I allow for some growth room, unless the studio is extraordinarily picky. Usually, studios simply want the little ones to feel comfortable! Usually, when fitting wee ones, I will have them try on different lengths and widths so that we can get the proper fit where the child feels comfortable and the parent is happy. 

Can you describe the fitting environment? Did the fitter measure her? Did the fitter try several pairs on her? How was your child reacting during the fitting?

ranunculus   
ranunculus