Ballet Talk for Dancers
Mimi-wimi

Difficulty in finding the right ballet shoes, please help?

Mimi-wimi

Hello everyone, so I started ballet in January 2017 and I have been finding it difficult to find the right ballet shoes.

I'm an adult performing arts student so I do a variety of things i.e. theatre acting, contemporary dance, singing, and voice acting. However, after those classes I take ballet classes and I also do rhythmic gymnastics.

I have already gone through 5 pairs of Bloch split sole canvas ballet shoes already (different types too).

I recently tried MDM intrinsic reflex ballet shoes as I have a type of flat foot called flexible flat foot and it has an arch support. (When standing the arch isn't visible for me but when I am on my tip toes I have a high demi-pointe and a nice arch) but I hated these shoes. It was so hard to point my feet on tendu so the shoes made my feet work harder! My ballet teacher told me that it is good for strengthening but it feels so uncomfortable.

Recently I ordered Merlet ballet shoes but I am hoping to find that right one soon! :( 

Did any of you find it hard to find the perfect ballet shoes? 

sheahuang

Mimi-wimi - Have you tried being fitted at a dance store? What bothered you about the bloch split soles? Your shoe needs will change as you dance more and your feet get stronger. for some your foot shape or size can change some when you start pointe. 

morninglorie

Hi Mimi-wimi! Welcome!

It may take some experimenting...maybe try a different brand since Bloch doesn't seem to work for you. Is it the shape of the shoe you don't like? Are they uncomfortable? Is it the lack of arch support?

Personally, I prefer plain 'ole Sansa canvas split soles because the toe area of the shoe seems to fit my foot better. I've tried one of the new Bloch models that are "stretch canvas" and hated how they felt, but it's definitely a personal preference thing. Are you ordering shoes online, or trying them from a shop? 

munchkin16