Ballet Talk for Dancers

New here and wondering

Hello Everyone!!!  My name is Alexis.  I’m very happy to have found these boards.

I am interested in beginning Adult Ballet classes at age 34.  I have no previous ballet experience.  Therefore, I’m a bit nervous.

Needless to say, I’m more nervous because I am Male to Female gender fluid/transgender individual.  As I continue on my life journey, I always wanted to learn and Master the art of ballet.

My city offers Adult Open Division classes at night.  However, I was curious to get anyone’s thoughts/opinions as to whether or not I will be generally accepted, given my gender identity.  

I was also curious as to what to wear.  I know that Open division classes have a more relaxed dress code.  However, since I want to take this seriously, I read that wearing more form-fitting clothing like a leotard, tights, and slippers is preferred by instructors.

I’m looking forward to reading your replies and participating in further discussions!!

Edited by Alexis83
Mistake on word