Ballet Talk for Dancers
Mom2balletDD

Age flat turnout expected

Mom2balletDD

I'm new to BTFD and I'm hoping I have this is in the correct forum. I've tried searching for this but can't find an answer to my specific question. 

My DD is 10.5. She's been dancing since age 2 but only started at a pre-pro ballet school this year after being advised to do so by her previous ballet instructors (she was on a comp team from ages 6-10) because of her desire to become a professional ballerina one day. They said she has the facility, lines, talent, etc to potentially get there but needed more serious ballet training. She had been taking ballet 1.5 hrs twice a week from ages 8-10 (in addition to other styles). She is now taking 4 days of ballet technique (6.5 hrs tech, 1.5 hrs pre-pointe, plus 1 hr contemporary).  My concern is about her rotation. She's only at about 150 degrees by my estimate. Should she have more by now? When she sits upright in the butterfly sit, her legs don't automatically touch the ground but if she uses her strength in her legs/core, she can get them to touch the floor without anyone pushing them down. Is that an indicator that she has potential to get to 180 or is 150-160 degrees the most she can expect? When is it expected for kids to have the 180 degree rotation by?

The reason I'm mostly concerned is because of SI auditions. She'll start auditioning for those in a year at 11.5. If she doesn't have the flat turnout by then will she be automatically denied or is that not expected yet by that age? Does it depend on the SI or are none of them expecting that yet? With my lack of ballet knowledge I have no idea if she's at a normal amount of turnout for her age or if she's behind.

Edited by Mom2balletDD
Typo

learningdance

Mods I am not a mom of an under 13 so take this out if you feel it is inappropriate.