Ballet Talk for Dancers
Lisa M

Pointing foot / toes. Adult beginner help!

Lisa M

Okay. Trying to make this short as I possibly can lol. I’m new to ballet. 28 in adult beginners class. Background... I was never a dancer. I was a gymnast / competitive cheerleader my entire life. Then I had kids and I haven’t stretched in years. ( although it’s gotten better super fast ) I take 1 adult beginner class per week. I don’t have the typical old school ballet body. I have opposite. I have a gymnast body. Shorter legs, longer torso. 5’3 1/2 maybe 5’4 now that I corrected my posture a bit lol. Anyways... I’m having trouble “pointing” my feet in class. I constantly get corrections from the teacher and the other students in class. I don’t think I can possibly point my foot / toes any further then what I do now. I do have full sole slippers ( im going to the dance store to get split soles ) and I hear split soles can help with that. Also , like to add I don’t have “banana feet”. They arch. They have a decent arch actually. But they are no way banana. They aren’t overly arched. But they are not flat either. I don’t want to give up because 1. I am not a quitter. 2. I love classical music and always wanted to learn this beautiful art form.  Also, any tips of turnout would be great. The teacher will tell me to do my natural turnout from the hips ( which I do ) but a lot of the times she will tell me to turn my feet out more.. and when this happens, I feel like I’m losing my natural turnout ( if that makes any sense .. ) My feet can only turn and point so much. I get cramps nonstop. And i get it’s supposed to hurt and feel weird and all but am I missing something? Lol. Can a better ballet slipper help as far as pointing? Also*** I know my turnout needs major work. I’m still learning how to squeeze all the right muscles and this and that. It’s a lot of information coming at me all at once. Any tips would be very appreciated. And one last thing I would like to add is.. I know I’m neve