Ballet Talk for Dancers
Ballerinamom2girls

Does it get easier?

Ballerinamom2girls

I'm new to ballet.  Only a couple of months in.

I hate it.  I thought I would like it.  I love WATCHING ballet.  I THOUGHT I would love doing it myself.  The first few classes felt great, then when some more barre was introduced, I was so discouraged.  It's insanely difficult to do the what appears to be the simplest steps... while remembering 20 different posture corrections.

I so badly WANT to like it.  Should I keep going?  Did anyone experience great difficulty and frustration and end up loving ballet class?

Ballerinamom2girls

Btw I don't know how to edit my account.  For some reason it says male.  I'm female, fyi ;)

Hummingbird

Yes. It is hard to learn as an adult. You may want to try another school—a different teaching methodology. 

Coriander9

Watching some youtube videos that show/name different steps could be helpful. Reading a book on ballet terms and technique really helped me (Gaynor Minden has a nice handbook and The Basic Principles of Classical Ballet by Vaganova was very informative). I prefer reading/listening because I'm not really a visual learner. When I get combinations in class, marking them doesn't really help me as much as listening closely to the order and rhythm of the combination ("tombe, pas de bourree, glissade, assemble!'). It depends on what kind of learner you are but once you know vocabulary, it clicks because you know a lot of information about any combination and it's so much less to think about on top of technique. For example, your teacher could tell you to do a "tendu en croix from first" and if you already know that it means standing turned out with you heels/knees together, sliding through demi- into a fully-pointed foot that doesn't leave the floor, first front, side, back, side, before returning to the starting position, you'll have a lot more mental resources to focus of placement, flexibility, articulation.