Ballet Talk for Dancers

pirouettes

Guest JLynn

Guest JLynn

I am having a terrible time trying to do pirouettes. I've been dancing for about 1 1/2 years and I still can't land a single consistently! I have done some very nice ones, but I don't know what I was doing that made them work.

I've asked my instructor to watch me and tell me what I'm doing incorrectly. She told me I was pushing too hard with my back leg and losing balance. Now I'm pushing too softly and not making it all the way around.

I'm having a hard time finding my center in this turn. I'm doing everything I've been instructed to do, but I'm still not feeling balanced and centered.

I also have a hard time spotting this turn. I can't keep my eyes on my spot very well.

Anyone have any suggestions on things I could try to make my pirouette more consistent?