Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
Guest distantdancer

Standing on one leg

Guest distantdancer

It sounds so easy! Why, oh why, can't I do it!? Awww, I know it's cause I'm a beginner and have no strength, so basically I'm just asking all of you adult beginners out there: When were you able to balance on one leg? How long did it take before you felt comfortable in passe releve or preparations for pirouette. I can balance on one leg at the barre just fine, but as soon as I let go of the barre I start to twist and fall over. We have just started learning pirouettes, which are pretty hard to nail if you can't even stand on one leg reliably. I'm interested to hear how you got through the 'shaky' beginner phase! :)

citibob

My ballet master says that standing on one leg is what makes ballet so hard.

Jaana Heino

Just to give one landmark: I've done ballet now for 1,5 years, quite exactly, and I'm still in the shaky phase. I have an hour-long class 2-4 times a week.

Recently, since Christmas, I've started to occasionally (say, once in five or six tries) be able to let go of the barre and actually hold a retiré balance on demi-pointe for longer than one count. I've never so far felt actually comfortable in that balance.

I now can also balance in fifth on two feet on demi-pointe tolerably (only sometimes taking tiny step to correct), and do a retiré balance on flat with correct alignment and reasonable turnout; these took about a year both.

Since my balance has become better, single pirouettes en dedans are cleaning up, they are even solid some days when done with a piqué. En dehors I can do occasionally; maybe one in three or four is ok if I do only the pirouettes. In combinations it's less.

antbobby

Distant Dancer,

Hi, I see you are also a fan of Finis' tapes.

2 of his tapes - "The Standing Leg"

and also his "Ballet Technique Level 1" deal with balances.

I don't know if you have these.