Ballet Talk for Dancers
Guest Sara

Ballet schools in Wisconsin

Guest Sara

I have just started ballet and I was wondering if anyone knew of any reputable ballet schools in the Waukesha/Mukwonago area of Wisconsin. Thanks!

-Sara

[ 08-02-2001: Message edited by: Dressage Fan ]

Victoria Leigh

Hello Dressage Fan, welcome to the Young Dancers' forum on Ballet Alert Online!

I'm afraid I have no knowledge of those areas of Wisconsin. Hopefully someone else on board will have some information for you. How far is it from Milwaukee?

Guest Sara

I think it is about 45 min. to an hour away from Milwaukee, if that's any help.

-Sara

Victoria Leigh

Okay Sara, my guess is that you will probably need to get yourself to Milwaukee, to the school of the Milwaukee Ballet, if you want serious quality ballet training. It's possible of course that there is someone in one of those towns, but I think it would be a surprise, as one usually needs a fairly sizable city to find good training.

Guest Sara

We only have two schools in town; one focuses completely on competition, and the other one is very recreational. I go to the recreational one right now because the teachers and students are much more polite than at the other school, but I'm not getting the training I need to reach my full potential. Do you know if there are any requirements to get into the school of the Milwaukee Ballet? Thanks again for your help!

-Sara

Guest Tyraney

how close is that also to appleton? because there's an excelent ballet school there that's associated with the children's ballet theater. there's also another good school in steven's point called the turning point. those are the two i personally know of, but i'm sure there's a few more scattered about. and by the way victoria, there are a few good sized city's in wisconsin. milwalkee, madison, eau claire, la crosse, green bay, appleton... :)

Victoria Leigh