Ballet Talk for Dancers

Dance Bad for you?

Guest Rythm

Hi everyone. I am a new member of this this bulliten. I have been dancing with a local company since I was 10 years old, but started dance at age 4. I love ballet and jazz and tap, theres no doubt about that.But In my years of danceI have experienced my share of injury's. My body, personal, was not made for dance, but that doesnt matter to me. My one big question to all of you is Is dance bad for the body? I mean I lvoe it now and my life couldnt be better, but what will I look like when I am 80? Will I be hunchbacked and have arthritis in my knees from all of those grande plies? I've always wondered and have asked my ballet mistress, but shes stuck on the idea that dance is the best thing in life and its just all about the joy it gives you. I agree, but I dont want to be slowely shortening my bodys life expectancy by living out my dance dreams.

Hi, Rythm. Welcome to Ballet Alert! We have different forums for different topics, to make it easier for people to find things. Your question is best answered in the Special Groups forums; that's where we talk about technique questions.

I'm going to move your post to the Young Dancers forums where our dance teachers will see your question. We have two of these, for different age groups. I don't know your age, so I'm moving it to the 13-16 year olds. We can move you to the older group later, if this is the wrong place.

• Administrators

Hi Rythm, welcome to the Young Dancers forum!