Ballet Talk for Dancers

To dance or not to dance

Guest Zarafa

To dance or not to dance is not really a question for me - I feel that I have to dance - to be frank, during the four or so years I was forced to give it up as an impoverished student, I still pirouetted around the university library at any given opportunity. Not to mention plenty of ungiven opportunities!!!

But I had a work appraisal the other day that went along the lines "blah blah, you could be very successful, blah, blah, blah, CEO before you're 30, blah, blah, blah IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING ELSE OUTSIDE OF WORK (i.e. work 7am to 10pm, 6 days a week from now until you retire)."

And my initial reaction to this was - well, frankly, I don't want to be successful that much.

But my considered reaction is more complex. I love to dance - but how long should I go on prioritising it over other things? At what point does that become detrimental to my life?

I know I do not consider certain job options, as I know they would leave me in countries/towns without dance studios, something I can't consider, or they will leave me without time to dance, equally not an option. The only time I am truly happy is when I am in a dance studio.

But I am NEVER GOING TO BE A DANCER. I am just lacking the right body, correct training early enough in my life etc etc etc. And I do want to be successful. Sadly, the one thing I love (dance) I am not talented enough to be successful in. And the things I could be successful in, because I am talented enough (business, academia), I do not love enough to make the sacrifices necessary to do so.

EEK. :)

Severely confused 23 year old. Any thoughts on this, from people who have made this choice, in dance or in other areas. Because I just can't get this straight in my head. :( Advice welcome, please help!

<Sigh>

Well, it is always nice to have a job that is so perfect for you that you don't want to do anything else, but few are lucky enough to have or find that type of job.