Ballet Talk for Dancers

upset

cececinderella

hi!

okay i want some advice, because i'm 16 years old (a junior in high school) and i've been dancing for around 4 years. i decided i wanted to start ballet at that time, and my mom's friend's daughter was at a dance place so i started there. my first year and a half, i didn't really receive the full training i wanted (it was a more jazz focused studio, and we ended up only learning how to do a plie and then sat around a lot), so i left and i went to my sister's friend's studio. which was a little better, but not very serious training (our teacher was a broadway dancer and a previous rockette). i stayed there for a year and a half as well, and then ended up leaving ballet for 6 months because i was so dissatisfied and i didn't know where to get a good teacher.

I ended starting this july at diff. ballet, which is a good 30 minute drive, which my teacher is a russian ballet teacher and i love her to pieces. but i'm still not sure whether to go to Ballet Pacifica or not yet. i've been on and off pointe for two years (don't worry, my russian teacher says i'm good), and right now i take 3 hour, and a half classes a week. (at level 4, there's 5 different levels).