Ballet Talk for Dancers

low leg?

Guest brown-eyed-girl

Guest brown-eyed-girl

I have trouble getting my a le seconde(sp?) any higher than hip level. I am 14, tall, and very thin (I'm not sure whether that makes a difference or not) and I have been dancing for about 5 years. Most of the girls in my level can get their legs very high, and I don't think I should be in a lower level, but I just can't lift my leg that high :) . I have been very disciplined about keeping my hips in alignment, turning out the working and standing leg, and working with good technique, but I worry that I am not improving at all. My question is mainly whether this is related to flexibility issues or if it is lack of strength. Any exercises that might help would be glady appreciated as well.

Thanks so much,

Dancer in Distress :pinch:

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Mel Johnson

• Victoria Leigh

• balletqueen3450

• coffee

Hi, brown-eyed girl and welcome to the Young Dancers' Forums here at Ballet Talk on Ballet Alert! Online! :)

Extension is a two-part operation, and it works best if both parts are developed simultaneously. The two parts are flexibility and strength. First a quick check - do you have the flexibility to do a jambe dans la main (You know, that stretch where you carry the leg with the foot in your hand to the front and then to à la seconde 'way high up there)? Then, if you can do that, can you hold the leg there once you've let go with your hand? This is both a good test and a good exercise for checking and working on extension. Very few, like no, dancers can hold their hips absolutely square when working extension higher than hip level, but the amount of rise to the hip can be minimized. It's all practice, practice, practice! :pinch:

Guest brown-eyed-girl