Ballet Talk for Dancers

What is character dancing?

Guest jane

I have just begun lessons with a new teacher (who I absolutely love, I'm improvin g so much! :sweating: ) and she teaches RAD ballet, as opposed to checcetti (sp?) which I have taken for the year I have been doing ballet.

In RAD, there is character dancing which I have never done before. What is it? All I know is that it is done not in ballet slippers but in shoes that look a bit like tap shoes, and swishy skirts. Would I be right in thinking its a sort of folk dancing? I'm really curious to know what its all about! I just cant wait to start! :rolleyes:

Just thought I'd make use of the expertise thats around! :thumbsup:

• Administrators

Jane, I moved this to YD, since it is a question about dance, not a buddy chat topic.

Character dances are dances from different countries, like Spanish dances, Hungarian Dances (Czardas for instance!), Russian folk dances, Irish dance, etc., etc. The Polish National Character dance is the Mazurka, for instance. All of these dances are great fun to learn and to perform, and in ballets they can be very important parts of the story by showing the dance of the people who lived in the time and place of the story, whether they are peasants or important court people.

If you look at videos of most of the full length ballets you will find several National Character Dances. In Swan Lake, for instance, there is a Mazurka and a Czardas. There is also a very famous and wonderful Mazurka in Coppelia.