Ballet Talk for Dancers to close ×
Ballet Talk for Dancers

Really excited

i'm really excited, I have just managed to find a place that does contemporary adult dance and its only about 100m from where I live (in Manchester as I do manage to live in two places, the other being Cambridge!). As I had just moved to this new place I had no idea it was even there, but yes there is an Arts centre, all new and shiny. I'm going to ring them tomorrow and see if it is really true and then I will be really excited. I know its not ballet, but it is dancing, and I have to dance. Actually, I have never done contemporary before, so maybe my excitement is a bit premature. But just had to share.

I'm all fidgety now.. :wub:

Xena, that is great. Contemporary is brilliant fun (can I say here that it can be more enjoyable than ballet? :(:blushing: ) - being good at ballet will help you settle in really fast. Hope you make it to classes!

Congratulations, Xena!

I think that as a ballet dancer you will bring a lot to the party!

My ballet teachers are a couple of former Bolshoi soloists who are

VERY traditional when it comes to ballet; yet just two weeks ago

I saw them perform a contemporary piece by a young choreographer

and mutual friend of ours. It was stunningly beautiful... and I think

all the more so because of their attention to line and detail, as well as

the tremendous atheleticism they bring from their ballet training.

So, I'm sure the folks at this new studio will enjoy having you in

their midst, and hopefully vice versa!

And what a gift to be able to dance only a short walk from home!

I'm 45min (by car) from home and a hot bath when I stumble out of class...

:D

Do keep us posted on how it goes, OK?

Guest beckster

That's great news Jeanette! That's the problem with moving house a lot - it takes awhile to get to know somewhere and to find all the options available for dance. It is a shame that so few local dance schools have webpages.