Ballet Talk for Dancers to close ×
Ballet Talk for Dancers

ballet amnesia!

duckie9876

I just had a baby and am now returning to ballet after a 3 month absence. How depressing! In 3 months it seems as if I have managed to lose ALL my technique. There's no balance, I can't make my legs do the right steps and most of all, I have absolutely no coordination.

I can't seem to do anything correctly, and I am REALLY getting depressed over it. I feel like an absolute beginner! Has anyone had this experience?

We were doing very simple things last night and I could hardly do them. For example: Four pas de chats, cabriole to the back leg, then brise to the front. Should have been a no-brainer. Pas de chats are OK, but cabriole looks like my feet died (even if I'm pointing them), and brise felt like my legs were having a seizure...LOL!

Has anyone had this experience? How do you get out of this rut??? I used to think that I had decent technique, and I was stronger than many other dancers, so I wasn't at the bottom of the food chain. Now it feels like I can't even FIND the food chain!

HELP!!! Where can I start to fix this?

• Administrators

It takes time to get it back together, Duckie :) It will all come back. I think if I had been out that long I would not even attemp jumping for a couple of weeks at least! Usually it will take about as long to get back as you were out. Don't be depressed...you were out for a GREAT reason! :D And it WILL all come back. Just hang in there and have a bit of patience, and don't try to do too much too soon.

Guest abcfordance

Cabrioles and Brise' are not exactly beginner and simple jumps - give yourself a break :)

There are several physiological changes going on in your body right now which are going to make the first few weeks back in class more challenging than normal.