Ballet Talk for Dancers to close ×
Ballet Talk for Dancers

My injured foot

Guest Alive2Dance

Guest Alive2Dance

A few weeks ago I had my first pointe class. It was very short but I dont think I stretched my feet enough before it. After that there there was pain in my foot. :) It didn't start hurting until the next day. It was in the top of my foot towards the outside. Right along the tendons. I iced it and didn't go to class for two days. I showed my teacher where it was and she thought it was an odd place to have pain because we don't really stretch that part of the foot. She thought that maybe I could've done it outside of dance. It still acts up sometimes and I ice it and rest it. What do you think this could be? Do you think this is dance related and has this happened to anyone else before?

Edited by Alive2Dance
  • Administrators

Did you not have a technique class prior to wearing the pointe shoes? If not, especially as a total beginner on pointe, that could certainly have injured your foot. It does sound like some strained tendons, although of course it's impossible to know from here. If it continues, do see a doctor.

It is also possible that the shoe is not right for your foot, or that you don't yet have the strength and flexibility in the foot to work on pointe. Also impossible to know from here. Are you getting the amount of training and technique classes necessary to be on pointe safely?

Guest Alive2Dance