Ballet Talk for Dancers

Private Lessons or Classes

Guest Jo

Just weighting up my options as a 24 year old female. Do I start Ballet by taking a few private lessons first, have private lessons and take an adult beginners class or just start taking classes? I would prefer to take the classes but I am concerned that I may find it too difficult to keep up at first. Does anyone have any suggestions based on their experiences?

[ January 14, 2002: Message edited by: aspire2dance ]

I think that probably you should ask the school(s) you are considering to start at.

Some schools offer classes / courses for total beginners, in which case it probably would be a good idea to join one of those - if it's the beginning of the term where you are, you might find classes that have just begun meeting.

On the other hand, some schools seem to only offer ongoing classes, in which case they might suggest that you take a few private lessons first to learn the very basics, if there is not a newcomer class available.

Please do correct me if I'm wrong - I base this information only on the situation in Finland and what I've read on this board about elsewhere.

Guest marvelous

If a beginning class is available, I would go with that. I joined a beginning class in the middle of the term, and although I didn't know all of the combinations the way the other students did, it gave me something to work on. Also, I feel that I learn more looking at and comparing myself to other students, than just being alone.

• Administrators

aspire2, I go along with Jaana on this. If the class is all just starting at the same time, that's great, but also hard to find, especially in the middle of a school year. If the class is ongoing, and you will be joining as a complete beginner, I would suggest some privates first if they are available, and of course if you can afford it! eek.gif