Ballet Talk for Dancers

30-year old male beginner

Guest Anders

Hello all!

I'm a 30 year old lawyer (male) who spent the last one and a half years in St. Petersburg, Russia. Although far from a ballet buff when I first arrived (and, honestly, still not very knowledgable), the city will simply not allow you to miss seeing a number of Swan Lakes, Nutcrackers, etc. at one or more of its numerous classical venues. I was charmed. When I returned to my native Stockholm a week ago, I immediately signed up for an extra curricular beginners course in ballet at the Stockholm ballet academy. I realize that for ballet purposes I'm way over the hill, but I'm doing it to hopefully be able to put my body at the service of beauty (not just beer).

Anyway, my first class is next Thursday, and I'd like to know a few things before I go. I asked the instructor what I should wear and she said tights. I know nothing about tights. As to shoes, she said that just socks would do for the first lesson. Would anyone like to give me the low-down on ballet apparel? What are tights, what do I wear on top (t-shirt?), and all the more mind boggling, what do I wear UNDER them? I'm grateful for all the pointers I can get...

Also, I'd like to hear your views on the age issue and any other experiences you might wish to share.

Thanks

(This message has also been posted on the male dancers forum.)

Guest linsusanr

Hi Anders,

That's great that you're going to start ballet! Good for you. To be sure, you're not "over the hill" -- there are seniors in some of my classes and they are doing fine. Every person has his or her own reasons for dancing. We all accept this in class and have a good time learning. Good luck! :)

-Susan

• Administrators
Victoria Leigh