Ballet Talk for Dancers

A potentially silly question about turn-out

Jaana Heino

I am new to ballet, as you know, so I apologice for a potentially stupid question and not knowing the correct anatomical and ballet terms.

The problem is like this. I seem to have a pretty good turn-out at the hip: for instance, if I sit with my legs straight and feet pointed, or lie on my back with knees bent, I can point my knees to the side pretty far (not 180 degrees, but close).

The problem is, when I flex my ankles (which I obviously have to do to stand with my heels on the floor), the turn-out gets *much* less. So, I can stand in the first with my knees to the sides when on demipointe, but with my heels on the floor, and even more so when doing a plie, my turn-out gets worse.

This most probably is because of some weakness or tightness in the muscles or other joins, but I have not been able to figure out in which?

So, is this a normal phenomenon? Can I (should I?) do some exercises at home to cure it?

[ 09-15-2001: Message edited by: Jaana Heino ]

• Administrators
Victoria Leigh

Yep, normal phenomenon! Unfortunately, having turnout and being able to USE that turnout is one of the things that makes ballet so difficult and why it takes so long to develop a dancer :eek: In time you will build the strength in all the necessary muscles to be able to maintain the rotation while upright, but don't expect it to happen overnight! Keep working on the rotation with the exercises you are taught in class, and also on strengthening the abdominal muscles, as placement and strength in the torso is key to being able to use your rotation.

[ 09-15-2001: Message edited by: Victoria Leigh ]

Thank you for the answer! I'm quite happy to work for it patiently as long as I know that what I am doing are really doing something to it. :) The teachers have shown us exercises to strengthen "turn-out-muscles" and abdominals and stuff.