Ballet Talk for Dancers
Sign in to follow this  
Guest amdewitt

How long before pointe?

Guest amdewitt

Hello Everyone!

I'm 32, and I know I have so much to learn, but I have pretty good flexibility and strength in my legs, and have taken dance on and off through the years. I'm new to this message board and have read through some of the topics on how much ballet training one should have before beginning pointe work.

I, like so many of you, returned to ballet after many, many yrs (some basic training in childhood, and some in college) with hopes of "going en pointe". Regarding when to begin pointe work, some say 3 yrs, some have said one. I'm one of those whose instructor said, "after a yr, you should be able to begin pointe". Is it a bad thing to begin pointe work after a full yr of training vs. 3 yrs? Does the amount of time depend on how well muscles develop? What are the key things that an instructor looks for when determining whether or not a student is ready for pointe?

Victoria Leigh

Hello Atti2de, welcome to Ballet Alert Online, and the Adult Students forum!

To answer your question, there are always a lot of variables in terms of pointe. Some people should never be on pointe, others can do it relatively quickly. Besides your own physique and strength, the question might be more one of how much training as opposed to one year or two years or three years. For instance, a student taking once a week for three years should still not go on pointe. But a student taking 3 or 4 classes a week with exceptionally qualified teachers, who also has good feet, rotation, placement and strength, might do it in a year without too much difficulty. So, it depends on you, but also on the quality and intensity of your training.

Guest amdewitt