Ballet Talk for Dancers
Guest not282dance

Am I crazy?

Guest not282dance
:shrug: Any expert/teacher out there... I've noticed a lot of threads for people in the 20s, but how about in their 40s, almost 50s? I am 48 years old and have LOVED ballet since I can remember. I was never able to dance growing up as a minister's kid...it wasn't allowed. I played the violin instead. I had a gastric bypass a year ago and have lost 180 pounds. I'm currently about 5'11 and about 145 pounds. I want to do ballet...in fact my daughter and I have been doing the NYC ballet DVDs for the past three years. I love them, and am able to do all of it with no difficulty. Would it be impossible for me to consider an adult ballet class at my age...just because I think it's beautiful and it makes me feel wonderful? I have very strong, thin legs and good balance. Is it crazy for me to dream that I might even think about a pointe class in my 50s? Any input would be great. I love reading all the info, and I've learned so much already.

FleetFeet

I'm not an expert, really, or a teacher, but I don't see any problem with starting at any age. As long as you are in good health, you should go for it. Starting later will present more challenges to building stamina, strength, and flexibility, but it is by no means impossible.

I started when I was 21 and I am still going strong at 40. Also, for several years, there was a woman at my studio that was dancing in her 60's.

Just be sure to find a good studio with a true adult beginner class. Most studios offer a free introductory lesson. Take advantage of this and try out several studios.

Good luck! :shrug:

Claude_Catastrophique

I really would go for it. You should make sure, that you can go to a complete adult-beginner-class.

In my group there is a woman who is over 50 (but she has been dancing since she was young) but she doesn't hear anything. Sometimes she has problems with her feet and ankle and then she just stops and has a break.