Ballet Talk for Dancers

NEED Advice!!

Guest newdancer

Guest newdancer

Hi All,

I just need some advice as far as ballet shoes go.

I'm not asking about pointe though, so thats why I thought I should ask in this forum. smile.gif I will be taking my first basic ballet class in January, so what would be a good basic starter shoe. Are there certain things I should look for in a shoe? Also as far as ballet tights go, do most adults get the stirup tights or whole foot tights? I'm just wondering if my foot will slide around in the whole foot tights. Also does anyone wear leg warmers, I saw some that started on the thigh at discoutdance supply .com. Do people ever wear leotards without tights? Do you all start out in sweatshirts for warm ups? Thank you all in advance for answering my "BEGGINER" ballet questions smile.gifbiggrin.gif

Guest BaLLeTdAnCeR247

Hey! Im a beginner in ballet too...Ill be starting next week! But Ive been in dance and gymnastics for a couple years.Im just now starting ballet.Ill tell you what I know.

Well...Most places want a dress code of black leotard/pink tights.The place you go might be diffrent.My personal opinion about wearing a leotard without tights..would be pretty un-comforatable!! Check with your studio to see the guidelines of what they want their students to wear...Hope I helped

:) :cool: ;)

Guest djinrain

Hi! I started in August and have gotten pretty good at figureing out what I do and don't like.

First of all check with your studio and see if they have requirements.

Okay,

I generally wear footed white or pink tights (I find that the shoes are uncomfortable without feet on the tights-just my opinion). A plain black leotard, no skirts or anything.