Ballet Talk for Dancers

Help! Adult beginner...

Guest Stephanie

Guest Stephanie

I started dancing as an adult about 9 years ago. I studied ballet, tap, jazz, swing and belly dancing. I stopped almost 2 years ago because between my two jobs I had no time left for classes. Then I was pregnant and didn't dance and now that my son is 8 months old, I decided to take classes again. I have signed up for tap (the only adult class I could find) and I tried to do some stretches the other day. I could not believe how stiff I was. I was unable to do anything. Is it even possible to get back to where I was 2 years ago? My tap class starts tomorrow and I am afraid to even search for any ballet classes. Any help would be appreciated.

• Administrators

Hi Stephanie, welcome to the Adult Ballet Students' forum on Ballet Talk!

The good news is, yes, you can get back to where you were. smile.gif The bad news is that it will be a bit more difficult now, and also it won't happen by doing tap! Get yourself into a ballet class, a stretch class, a Pilates class, or all of the above!

Hi Stephanie

First of all where are you located? You never know, there may be someone near where you are doing adult ballet.

Ms Leigh is totally right in saying you need to find any class that will make you stretch. Yoga, pilates even buying a yoga stretch video will give you something to work with if you can't get to a gym.

Why are you afraid to search for ballet classes? We can help you and encourage you biggrin.gif so never be afraid to ask anyone on this board any question. We are here to support eachother and help others in our quest smile.gif for ballet.

jeanette x

Guest Stephanie