Ballet Talk for Dancers

Ballet Master Alan Howard

I studied ballet in the 60's in downtown San Francisco at a studio called The Academy of Ballet. The owner/teacher was a former member of The Ballet Russe . His name was Alan Howard. Someone told me they had seen his obituary in Dance Magazine a couple of years ago.When I moved to Europe in 1972, I think he was still in SF but later I heard he was in Europe but nobody here seems to know anything about him.

I'm just curious because I enjoyed the years I spent in his school and company (Pacific Ballet) and learned a lot about ballet and life in general.

Does anyone know about his career history?

Edited by miyamura

Hi...Alan Howard was one of the most important teachers of my youth. I absolutely adored him... He trained Kyra Nichols before she left the bay area for NYCB. I danced with his Pacific Ballet from age 19 to 21 (1970-1972) before I rejoined SFB. He was the most wonderful, demanding teacher. Class was never under 2 hours...minimum 4 petite allegros! He (as you know, but for everyone else) was a principal dancer with Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo. I've always thought of him as the Bujones of his day...brilliant technique; clean long elegant line. After teaching in Europe (Germany and France) he came back to the U.S. and was living in New York for a number of years before his final illness. He returned to his hometown of Chicago where he passed away in the spring of 2003. He participated in the huge Ballet Russe reunion which took place a few years back. He had a remarkable dance collection which, I believe, has been donated to the library in Chicago. My friend who visited him in New York said that all his kitchen cabinets were filled with his collection instead of his dishes! I attended his memorial service in San Francisco at the Academy of Ballet where we all gathered to remember and honor a most remarkable dancer, artist, and person.