Ballet Talk for Dancers

How to let go?

LaMusicienne

I realize there is a similar topic on the parent's board, but I'm also interested in hearing from a dancer's point of view.

So.... When and how do you let go of the things you love to do in order to move on in life? I'm a college student planning to major in a science, so I realize that my future will not be centered on dance and music, which are my passions though not quite career options for various reasons. I'm only an undergraduate student - not even out of my teens yet - with still a lot of opportunities to dance and play music in college. But I can't help thinking what will become of me once I enter the career world or even graduate school. I know I won't have the same chances of dancing on a stage or playing in a musical ensemble just because my priority should be my major, yet I can't imagine my life without these things. It's like I live for the arts. Dance and music have done such wonderful things for me, especially emotionally when I was adjusting to college, and given me the feelings of pride, satisfaction, and purpose. And just the sheer fact that they are so capable of moving the soul and beautifying life, as most of you know :wub:

I know it's probably too early for me to be thinking of such things, but I really can't imagine myself letting go of dance and music. They won't be gone forever - at worst I'll still be dancing in front of my bedroom mirror and tooting my flute in the attic, but still....

And considering that people keep saying change is good, change is part of life, you need to be ready to accept and welcome change.... is it bad that I don't want change when it comes to taking away what I love?

Sorry if this topic has already been covered or that this sounds like an emotional soap opera. I just want to know if I shouldn't attach myself so strongly to things I won't be doing as a profession and simply accept the fact that I can't dance or play music for the entirety of my life.