Ballet Talk for Dancers

Abdominal Surgery

Guest BalletBrat

Guest BalletBrat

It occurred to me today while driving in my car, as I pondered my horrible extension devant, that maybe my problem is not a lack of technique but the result of two c-sections.

I have fine extensions to the side and back, of course there is always room for improvement, but I really struggle to the front. Even en fondu when it would seem easier to lift the working leg higher, I have a terrible time of things. A 90 degree extension devant feels like murder to me, with how hard I must work to get it just to there, it seems as if my knee should be touching my nose!

So I thought, is it possible that the two surgeries could have caused so much damage, that I may never reach a higher extension? Or, am I just looking for excuses? :)

dancing_dentist

Hi ballet Brat.. I'm a dentist,so I don't know if there's a correlation between abdominal surgery and devant extension.

But I also have a devant extension problem too. But the tension is in my working thigh. I try to lift my leg by using the muscles of the back of the thigh, but then I would tilt my pelvis forward, which we're not supposed to, right? But if I try to keep my pelvis as straight as possible, then my leg won't go very high, and already I feel the muscle of the front of thigh working very hard.

It's kinda frustrating. :)

BalletBrat,

Extension devant is difficult for just about everyone, so don't feel so bad about it. A lot of very good dancers only ever get it a smidge above 90.

I just Googled "C sections and abdominal muscles" and got lots of hits. Looks like there's all kids of different incisions they can make which will results in all kinds of different types of abdominal muscle damage. Looks like, yes, the surgery can affect strength.

Ballet Brat,