Ballet Talk for Dancers

Trial at another studio

Hi just to give you my background. I've been dancing for three months plus and am currently doing RAD Inter-Foundation in a kids' class. I'm not en pointe of course but the barrework is ok, as for centre work I can do the steps mostly but am still struggling to learn the combinations.

As I have less foundation/years dancing than my classmates, I've been looking around for a non-syllabus class at an easier level. I am going for a beginner class which the studio described as RAD Grade 3/4 level which sounds ok for an adult, difficult enough to be interesting but not easy enough to be learning plies. They have even more basic classes but they clash with work (it's hard to find weekend classes for adults). So I'm nervous but excited and worried that I would be unable to keep up with the others as I'm used to repeating exercises week after week.

Reflecting back on my experience, when I started I was super ethusiastic, spent a ton on ballet stuff (which I now feel foolish about) etc. Now I have cooled down a little because my right foot is worrying me. (no swelling/bruise or visible injury but I feel pain sometimes in the bottom of my foot and near my ankle) Is this normal?

I also wonder if I can stay on in the kids' class especially if I go en pointe on day. As the only adult, I find things a bit challenging for my ageing body at times(I'm 26 and my classmates are 10-13). But they don't have syllabus classes for adults alone...if I ever do pointe, I would have to take things super slow and easy while my classmates have no fear and like to walk around en pointe...

Hi Sakura,

Are there no adult classes in your area?