Ballet Talk for Dancers

Giving myself class

mayfair1

I've been taking lots of classes all summer, and I should be able to take some this fall, but right now there are three weeks in which there is no way I can take any classes.

I don't think that I can improve on my own, but I'm hoping to give myself class, or at least a full barre, and not lose strength/technique. I know that it's not a good idea for beginners to practice much on their own, but I think it should be okay for me - I've been dancing for a few years, and I'd put my level at advanced beginner or low intermediate, depending on the studio.

I plan to give myself a fairly easy class, and only do things I am very familiar with, so as to avoid forming/reinforcing bad habits. I will concentrate on the main corrections I got over the summer. I know that the hardest thing for me will be not skipping the things I don't like or not fully working the second side, but I'm going to try and be as professional with myself as I can.

Of course I'll strech, flexibility is the easiest thing to work on on my own.

Questions:

Does this sound like a good idea? A fairly easy class to keep up my strength and technique?

Should I just do barre, or should I try and do some center combinations as well? (I remember some from class)

Any other suggestions/advice?

Thanks!

Many teachers have little crib sheets of their barre lesson...it is possible that if you are looking to practice, your teacher might give you the proper combinations.

Also, have you considered any of the ballet DVDs? Something like that would provide you with something to ground yourself in. There are some excellent choices out there, I'm sure. That way, you can do a little mini-class based upon something.