Ballet Talk for Dancers

nutcracker

Guest 321dance

Guest 321dance

hi-our school just passed out the info for audtioning for their nutcracker. i would like to audition but they have many (11) performances all at a theater that is about 20-40 min.(depending on traffic) away. this is also my 1st year of high school so homework is always a problem. nutcracker would take up about 2 weeks before christmas of performances almost every night including missing about 3 days of school for extra school performances. i'm just wondering if i should still try out and try to make it through those 2 weeks. i know i should ask myself "is it worth it?' and "how much does it mean to me?" but i'm still undecided...

any thoughts on this subject would really help!

thanks

Hi, I would like to say, that if you love to dance, this shouldn't get in the way of your dreams. It is my first year of highschool as well, I just moved, is is a 20 minute trip to school,and ballet, and I think our Nutcracker does about 50 shows. I was faced with the same decision, but I am going to let all my teachers know when I am busy, and accomodate my scheduale accordingly. I know it will be a stretch for me, and for you too, but I think that any performance opportunity is worth it! :)

However, let us live in the real world, shall we? Twenty minutes is not forty. Only commit to those things which you know you can do. If you are prepared to work extra hard and keep your schoolwork up, and also if you have a reliable way to the rehearsals and performances, then I say fine. But if you can't do those things, it's really better that you don't obligate yourself.

• Administrators