Ballet Talk for Dancers

Classroom Competition - Good Or Bad?

Guest adancingartistforlife

During my career as a dancer, and now as a teacher, I have never been a big fan of competing in the classroom.

My philosophy is that you are dealing with your body, your mind, and getting what the teacher is telling you right, and hopefully having fun with it.

However I have known some dancers that thrive on competing, and I have also known teachers and choreographers that deliberately create competitive atmospheres.

In these atmospheres, I have seen some dancers excel, and some crumble.

Thoughts?

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• missvjc420

• ami1436

• kellylynn

• cassy

Hmmm.

I think there are positive competitive attitudes, and negative competitive attitudes.

A positive competitive attitude may include admiring a co-student and aspiring to do as well as they are at a particular aspect. Looking to them as a source of inspiration, if you will.

An example of a negative competitive attitude may be coveting a particular skill out of jealousy so that the drive to improve does not stem from admiration and a desire to equal, but a desire to defeat and surpass.

I watch my students compete with each other good-naturedly. After class, you'll often find a couple who lag behind to out-turn the other (fouettes, pirouettes, etc). The result is usually smiles, giggles, and the pair walking off the the dressing room together offering friendly compliments and corrections.

I think that, to a degree, ballet is competitive in nature, so I don't completely see classroom competition as a bad thing. However, one must be careful of falling onto the negative side of the equation, as it will indeed eat you up inside and remove you from the original intent behind dance.