Ballet Talk for Dancers

Nutcracker auditions

Gracility

Hi,

I am new to Ballet Talk. I have been lurking for a while but now feel ready to contribute. My 15-year old daughter has been dancing for about eight years now. This topic was sort of started on the under-13 parents group but I wanted to bring it up here to get feedback from parents of older children.

Our company's Nutcracker uses students from the school. School teachers used to have a big influence on which students received roles but the situation has changed and now it appears that the company director makes all the decisions. I don't know if the school had or has any say about this change but I think think it is an unfortunate turn of events. It seems that the director chooses students without a lot of thought - it is obvious that favorites or familiar faces return year after year. Given that students, especially ones in the upper levels, work so hard all year long, it would be nice if all dedicated and talented students were rewarded with a role at some point in their school career. I realize that there are a limited number of roles but it would not hurt anyone to spread the roles around. For example, the coveted role of Clara has gone to the same few girls year after year (after year). There are many talented girls that are very capable of this role AND would fit the costume. It just breeds resentment among the girls and is not helpful to the girls who get the roles and the ones who don't.

My daughter has had decent roles so I am not complaining about that. I appreciated BalletBooster's comments on this topic on the under-13 board. The deeper my daughter (and hence we) get into this world, the further away I want to run! I don't think I will ever understand it.

Thanks for all the insightful discussion on Ballet Talk.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Treefrog

• balletbooster

• ekeetaxi

• Gracility

• Administrators