Ballet Talk for Dancers

6 year old with an interest in ballet

Guest lovesherballet

Guest lovesherballet

Hi all - I've been reading this forum for a couple months now and finally decided to ask some questions. Most of you have older dd's then mine so I keep thinking my dd is too young for any serious questions to arise. My dd is 6yrs and has been dancing for a year now. She is constantly (at least once a day) practicing some ballet move she has been taught whether its feet position to leaps and skips. She recieved for her birthday a DVD of Angelina Ballerina and to my surprise it has several little "instructional" sections where they use a dancer her age showing how to do simple basic moves (i.e. plie's, skips, and hopping in place moving feet from 3rd to 4th(I'm still learning all the names and forgot what they call this one) .

Anyway one of my questions is kind of a repeat of of something I read earlier and cant find to reread.

What is talent - especially at this age? My dd's instructor says she is smart and talented and I'm curious as to what they look at at this age? (Also the School that she goes to also has a company and they offered to evaluate her early to go into their B1 Company classes which they normally start at 7yrs (my dd turned 6 in august) (They offered this when I mentioned putting her in another class with them cause she pesters me about when she can go to class- we didnt go either route becuase she auditioned for the Nutcracker and now has "additional classes" from that)

Also this is for Victoria - I keep reading the cautions for pointe work and have been carefully encouraging my dd not to stand on her toes - she can get onto her toes (not the pad but the VERY TIP of her toes and do those tiny steps) and I'm curious if her "playing" that she is on pointe is harmful? I have told her that its not good for her feet but I dont want to discourage her interest in dancing.

Sorry this is so long .....