Ballet Talk for Dancers

Major Slump...need help

I am in a major ballet slump! I am in my second year with a professional ballet company but I feel like I am falling apart. I am not doing horribly there as I am casted and have been making steady progress but I just feel awful. I feel like I am losing the technique I worked so hard to get due to less than wonderful classes while we are in rehersal periods and am frusterated in rehersal because I feel like I should be doing better. I want to leve this company and go somewhere else but I am afraid that I wont find another position because the ballet job market seems to yet again be so tight this year. :wub: I am looking around a bit but from what I hear most companies don't have positions and some are even downsizing...yikes!! What should I do? Should I just be happy to be dancing with a company and stick out out another year? Any advice? I feel frusterated and somewhat unmotivated because I feel like I am doing so badly. This is very uncharacteristic of me because I have always been the fighter...the one who was going to make it at all odds and prove to others and myself that I could do it. Now I just don't know what to do, I don't know if I still have that fight in me. Is this a sign I am near the end of my career and need to move on?? Has anyone ever felt like this before?? :shrug:

• Administrators